Skip to content

2024 Our Health Heroes Awards winners revealed

The winners of the eighth annual Our Health Heroes Awards were announced yesterday (16 April) at a glittering awards ceremony held at the Queen Elizabeth II Centre in London. 

Supported by NHS EnglandNHS Employers, NHS Shared Business Services, NHS Race & Health ObservatorySFJ Awards and Integrated Care Journal, Our Health Heroes Awards celebrates the wider healthcare workforce that supports our NHS doctors and nurses on the frontline. 

From porters and cleaners to receptionists, gardeners and security guards, these often unsung heroes make up roughly 40% of the NHS’s million plus workforce; Our Health Heroes Awards is a national celebration of their achievements and an opportunity to give thanks for the important role that they play in keeping our health service functioning. 

This year’s gold, silver and bronze winners are as follows: 

This year’s gold, silver and bronze winners (listed below in that order for each category) are as follows: 

Outstanding Lifetime Contribution to Healthcare, sponsored by NHS Employers: 

  • Philip Helliwell, Rheumatology Consultant, Bradford Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust  
  • Elaine Allison, Matron, St. Bartholomew’s Court Nursing Home 
  • Anthony Westacott, Learning and Development Manager, Avon & Wiltshire Mental Health Partnership NHS Trust  

Apprentice of the Year: 

  • Phoebe Edwards, Podiatry Apprentice, East London NHS Foundation Trust  
  • Ben Martin, Data Quality Support Analyst, Bradford Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust 
  • Debbie Harris, Healthcare Assistant, Essex Partnership University NHS Foundation Trust  

Operational Support Worker of the Year: 

  • Paula Di Palma, Housekeeping Manager, St Raphael’s Hospice  
  • Cat Carman, Social Prescriber, Fenland Group Practice  
  • Tina Jackson, Family Liaison Officer, Portsmouth Hospitals University NHS Trust  

Clinical Support Worker of the Year: 

  • Chido Munyanyi, Therapy Support Worker, University Hospitals of Leicester NHS Trust 
  • Kerry Clark, Macmillan Cancer Support Worker, Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust  
  • Swati Gor, Healthcare Assistant, Havergal Surgery  

Healthcare Volunteer of the Year:  

  • Tracy Spencer, Volunteer, WithYou in North Lincolnshire 
  • Paul Fox, Yoga4Health & Yoga4NHS Co-ordinator, The Yoga in Healthcare Alliance 
  • Rezmin Islam, Volunteer, Liverpool Women’s NHS Foundation Trust  

Team award category winners: 

  • St Clare Hospice (Dedication to a Lifelong Learning Culture – sponsored by SFJ Awards) 
  • Dentaid (Best Health and Care Initiative by a UK Charity) 
  • Southern Health (NHS Improvement through Digital Innovation – sponsored by NHS Shared Business Services) 
  • RECONNECT (Best Healthcare Workforce Collaboration) 
  • Spectrum CIC (Best Healthcare Initiative in a Community or Criminal Justice Setting) 
  • West London Perinatal Service (Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Champion – supported by NHS Race & Health Observatory)